Omoro: The model district of Soya Beans and Cassava

Omoro- Omoro District is one of the new districts in Uganda. Created in 2016 out of Gulu District, it comprises of two counties and they are Omoro county and Tochi County
The district  has three town councils of Opit, Palenga and Acet of which only Opit TC is operational. There are six old operational subcounties and six newly created subcounties that are not yet funtional. The old ones are Koro, Odek, Lalogi, Ongako, Lakwana and Bobi. The newly created ones include Lakwaya, Labora, Orapwoyo, Abuga, Aremo, Akidi.

Location: The district is located in the Northern part of Uganda and it is boardered by Gulu to the north, Pader to the east, Oyam to the south, Nwoya to the west and Lira southeast. The district headquarters lies along Gulu- Moroto highway.

Social services: Omoro has 22 government health centres and three privately owned hospitals. There are 68 government-aided primary schools and has 6 government-aided secondary schools.


Economic activities: The district is well known for the growing of Soya Beans, Cassava and Beans. Residents also grow Maize and Sun Flower. People are also involved in semi-intensive agriculture, trade and commerce, and lumbering.

The people who move and shake Bushenyi

Rt Hon Jacob Oulanya is the MP Omoro County and Deputy Speaker of parliament of Uganda.

Hon Catherine Lamwaka is the district woman Member of Parliament.

Hon Peter Okot  is the MP Tochi County and Shadow Minister for Agriculture.

Susan Akany is the Resident District Commissioner 

Hon Okello Douglas Peter Okao  is the district chairperson.

Nicholas Ogwang is the chief adminstrative officer.

Hon Damasco Odongo is the district speaker.



Wednesday, April 4, 2018