Population & Culture

Omoro District headquarters is 374 km by road from Kampala the largest city and capital of Uganda through Gulu – Moroto Road.

Administratively, Omoro District is composed of 15 Lower Local Governments (12 Sub-counties and 3 Town Council). There are 65 Parishes and 480 villages.

The Total population is 190,534 (NPHC, 2014).

Demographic Comparatives





 Infant Population (Under 1 Year)


 Population Under 5 Years


 Adoloscents (10 - 24 Years)


 Population Under 18 Years


 Orphans (Less than 18 Years)



Omoro district forms part of Acholi Chiefdom a Ker Kwaro Acholi Government headed by La Wii Rwodi, with a cosmopolitan population. Other major tribes include Baganda, Basoga, Bagisu, Bagwere, Bakiga, Banyankole, Banyarwanda, Lugbara, Banyoro, and Batooro. Luo is the language commonly spoken. English is the official language used

Population Distribution by Denominations
(Source: Population Census 2002 Percentages on 2014 Population Census)

Religion / Sect






Other / None